Depatment of Horticulture

Chair, Depatment of Horticulture

 Kourosh Vahdati (Professor)

Interest Areas: Breeding and Biotechnology of Fruit Trees

Email Address: kvahdati@ut.ac.ir

Secretary: Najmeh Gharib Malek Hosseini
Phone Number: +98-21-36041089
 

 

About the Department


With the aim of developing knowledge about breeding and production of horticultural plants, department of horticulture was established in 2003. The department included 10 faculty members and its mission is to provide innovative teaching, research, and outreach in science of horticulture. Our majors explore the science of horticultural plant breeding and production from the perspectives of a variety of disciplines. All students in the program take a core set of interdisciplinary courses selected specifically to give them a solid foundation on which they can build expertise in a specific discipline. This department currently offers bachelors in horticultural science. Also master's and doctoral qualified students are admitted for horticultural science in 6 majors including Pomology, Floriculture, Olericulture, Medicinal plants, Postharvest physiology and Biotechnology.
 

 

 Shirin  Dianati Daylami

(Assistant Professor)

Interest Areas: Physiology and Breeding of Bulb Flowers

Email Address: dianati@ut.ac.ir


MahmoudReza  Roozban

(Assistant Professor)

Interest Areas: Abiotic Stresses Physiology in Plants

Email Address: mroozban@ut.ac.ir


Mahboubeh  Zare Mehrjerdi

(Assistant Professor)

Interest Areas: Breeding and Biotechnology of Medicinal Plants

Email Address: mzarem@ut.ac.ir


 Mostafa  Arab

(Assistant Professor)

Interest Areas: Physiology of Cut Flowers

 Email Address: mosarab@ut.ac.ir


 Shiva  Azizinia

(Assistant Professor)

Interest Areas: Breeding of Vegetables

 Email Address: azizi@ut.ac.ir

 

 

Soheil Karimi

(Assistant Professor)

Interest Areas: Physiology and Breeding of Fruit Trees

Email Address: skarimi@ut.ac.ir



  Mahmoud  Lotfi

(Associate Professor)

Interest Areas: Genetics and Breeding of Vegetables

Email Address: mlotfi@ut.ac.ir


Kourosh Vahdati 

(Professor)

Interest Areas: Breeding and Biotechnology of Fruit Trees

Email Address: kvahdati@ut.ac.ir


 Maryam  Norouzi

(Assistant Professor)

Interest Areas: Cytogenetics

Email Address: m.norouzi86@gmail.comr


 Navid  Yazdani

(Assistant Professor)

Interest Areas: Postharvest Physiology

Email Address: n.yazdani@ut.ac.ir

Research activities
Horticultural crops tolerance to biotic and abiotic stresses
Breeding and biotechnology of walnut trees
Breeding and biotechnology of melons
Improvement of pistachio trees
Improvement of almond trees
Postharvest physiology of horticultural crops
Domestication and improvement of wild flowers
Improvement of ornamentals
Using medicinal plants for diabetes and cancer

Technical Staff
Khosrow Nikoorazm, M.Sc.:
Greenhouses manager
nikorazm@ut.ac.ir

Saied Momeni, B.Sc.: Lab manager
s_momeni@ut.ac.ir

Kamran Pirasteh, B.Sc.: Technician
pirasteh@ut.ac.ir

Facilities
The department directly provides or manages a number of facilities including laboratories specifically equipped for plant genetics and breeding, biotechnology (tissue culture, molecular biology and genetic engineering), stress physiology and postharvest physiology of horticultural plants. It also has other facilities such as education and research greenhouses, nurseries and collections of fruit and nut trees. In addition, many electronic publications are available on the web. These resources make our department a good place to learn about and study Horticulture.